Reviews

InstaCOM USB to Serial Adapter 2 ft

InstaCOM USB to Serial Adapter 2 ft

4.8 (189 reviews)

Back to product page

(160) 84.66 %
(21) 11.11 %
(2) 1.06 %
(2) 1.06 %
(4) 2.12 %

Not Rated

(0) 0.00 %

Very Handy

Dchilli - 5/19/2008 12:51:08 PM

23 found this review helpful


Pros: Easy to install. No problems at all.

Cons: I have not found any.

Other: This is great for newer systems that do not have serial ports.

23 out of 28 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Instant serial port

Randy - 5/15/2008 8:18:13 AM

18 found this review helpful


Pros: Reliable install in 98 to win XP. Each adapter maintains the eame comport number even when mulitple are installed. They are absolutely plug and play. The jack end has nuts that allow easy install to a screw in db9f adapter. I love em and have bought about 25.

Cons: None so far.

Other: This company ships very fast, even when you use their free shipping.

18 out of 22 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

USB to Serial Adapter

Bro - 2/28/2009 3:00:34 PM

6 found this review helpful


Pros: It fits the need. I purchased a new laptop and didn't notice that it didn't have a serial port. I either had to purchase a new scanner or this adapter. It is a no brainer.

Cons: I haven't found any yet.

Other: I only wish that I noticed the USB to parallell port adapter Sewell sells when I ordered this one and ordered both at the same time. OH well next time.

6 out of 7 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

USB to serial adapter

Bob - 3/22/2010 6:22:01 PM

4 found this review helpful


Pros: Works great for Windows 7 64 bit. Installed effortlessly. I was worried because my computer knowledge moderate at best.

Cons: None

Other:

4 out of 5 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Dependable

VoiceBio - 5/6/2009 3:14:19 PM

3 found this review helpful


Pros: Dependable, I've used close to 1000 these past years and have not had ONE with problems. That's saying a lot these days!

Cons:

Other:

3 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Gets job done

Elmo - 4/7/2009 7:40:56 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Works with linux out of the box, drivers not needed. It becomes /dev/ttyUSB*

Cons: None

Other:

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Works great with Ubuntu 10

Anonymous - 5/4/2010 11:30:45 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Works great with native drivers in Ubuntu 10.04 and probably earlier versions. No installation CD necessary.

Cons:

Other:

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

usb to serial adapter

goldie - 8/20/2008 11:58:01 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Software installed without problem. Device worked as advertised. Reasonably priced. Overall quite pleased.

Cons: None

Other: Order was processed promptly and delivery was right on time.

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Adapter

bakertx - 8/6/2008 8:04:30 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Fast shipping, great price, easy 10 min. software loading. Worked perfect

Cons:

Other:

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

USB serial adapter

XRS - 8/2/2008 10:35:28 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Convenient package

Cons: Did not work for my application

Other:

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Results: 189