Reviews

PC to HDTV Converter

PC to HDTV Converter

3.9 (36 reviews)

Back to product page

(17) 47.22 %
(9) 25.00 %
(3) 8.33 %
(4) 11.11 %
(3) 8.33 %

Not Rated

(0) 0.00 %

No 16:9 support

Anonymous - 11/2/2008 12:15:17 AM

16 found this review helpful


Pros: On-screen display is helpful to position the output on the TV.

Cons: The only supported resolutions are: 640x480 800x600 1024x768 1280x1024 These all work well if you have a 4:3 TV, but if you have a real HDTV that is 16:9 you will have your video stretched horizontally. That means circles turn into ovals and people look fat.

Other:

16 out of 21 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

5

eddie - 6/3/2008 11:33:25 AM

12 found this review helpful


Pros: 5 stars, I have seen other pc to hdtv cords on the net but was afraid to buy. I purchased this model and it is exactly what I wanted. It worked the first time without a problem

Cons: none

Other: This company is excellant. If I need anything else I will not hesitate to contact them. Their customer service and technical service is great. thank you

12 out of 19 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous - 10/20/2008 2:35:41 PM

11 found this review helpful


Pros: This item works very easily and does a great job.

Cons:

Other:

11 out of 14 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Works great

Anonymous - 9/17/2008 12:36:09 PM

10 found this review helpful


Pros: Works right out of the box, picture quality is good.

Cons: The adjustments are a little tedious and I still don't have the picture exactly as I want it. Close enough to perfect though.

Other:

10 out of 17 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

It's Great

SChase - 6/11/2008 11:52:01 AM

9 found this review helpful


Pros: Very easy to setup and configure. I'm using it on a HD projection TV and it works real well.

Cons:

Other:

9 out of 16 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Works on Panasonic Plasma TH-50PX TV

ranger2 - 4/11/2012 4:55:05 PM

7 found this review helpful


Pros: Worked first time. I had purchased a VGA to HDMI from another company and no matter what resolutions I set the computer to, it would not work on my Plasma TV. Luckily the other company had good customer service too and I sent it back. I remembered reading a review on another site, someone mentioned the same problem I had with HDMI and they had success with Sewell using component connections. I paid more but it came with all the cables and I guess you do get what you pay for. The picture quality is good but probably not as good as if my TV had a VGA input. However, I am very satisfied with the quality. I bought a new Windows 7 desktop and wanted to use my old Windows XP computer to browse the web on the TV and it works great for that. I was also pleased that the converter had an On/Off button. Sewell's follow up on the whole purchase and shipping process is top notch.

Cons: Nothing big at all. The converter has a button that toggles between 480p, 720p and 1080i but once you turn the unit off it does not remember where you set it. The other is the owners manual, very sparse, I would recommend adding more specific set-up information, specifically setting your computers resolution before connecting to the TV, not a problem if you are connecting a laptop, but a desktop is not as easy unless the old monitor is nearby :-)

Other:

7 out of 8 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

It Works

Lloyd - 7/18/2009 10:43:04 AM

6 found this review helpful


Pros: This item truly does work as advertised. I have tried a few other products to get video to function on my 50" plasma TV, but either they did nor work, of the picture was fuzzy. This is by far the best one I have tried, and it is the one I will use from now on. I highly recommend this product for computer video to HDTV.

Cons: None - it worked perfectly from the start.

Other: I will recommend this one to friends.

6 out of 8 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Works well

Anonymous - 2/7/2009 5:14:36 AM

6 found this review helpful


Pros: Does exactly what it is supposed to. Was very easy to configure and the sizing and positioning controls are very straightforward.

Cons: The one down side is the device does not power down with the pc so it is always on. It should have a usb connection which would allow the device to power off when the pc is turned off or enters standby or hibernation modes.

Other:

6 out of 9 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Picture looks great!

Anonymous - 7/21/2010 9:39:09 AM

4 found this review helpful


Pros: I was skeptical - I have tried VGA to RCA, which is OK if you are watching lower quality movies and stuff, but this gives you a high def experience (you can even read text).

Cons: None that I can see.

Other:

4 out of 8 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Perfet solution for playing videos!

Anonymous - 3/3/2011 11:58:05 AM

4 found this review helpful


Pros: This is an easy to use device that does complicated scaling and color space conversions to bring decent VGA video to component video - and it's $80! Scaling was perfect everytime, even when changing resolutions. Does not have the $1000 price tag as a professional video scaler either! There is no question that it is absolutely perfect if you want to use your PC to watch Netflix movies and display them on your TV - you will at least get DVD quality video out of this unit.

Cons: Not exacty 'Board Room' presentation quality for displaying tiny fonts with perfect clarity, but small fonts are legible though. If you are displaying powerpoint slides or displaying DVD-quality video, it will work well. If you power on the unit with no signal, a "No Signal" message will be displayed even if you reconect the signal - powering it off and on clears that message.

Other: This is the perfect answer to many problems when it comes to playing video files! Since I am so disgusted with 'crippled' home theatre equipment, I am going to get another one of these VGA converters to use an old PC that will play *everything* on the TV for the kid's bedroom.

4 out of 7 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Results: 36