Reviews

BlastIR Wireless Pro

4.3 (53 reviews)

Sewell IR blast wireless kit

Mmwwe - 9/4/2017 1:18:07 PM

7 found this review helpful


Pros: The eye and repeater units do their task reliably

Cons: 1. There is a delay in response time from the eye to the emitter. You get used to it, but frustrating at first. 2. The jack on the receiver for the eye is not a solid construction and keeps forcing the cable for the eye loose. I got so frustrated that I eliminated the eye entirely and taped the whole receiver module under my tv.

Other: Good price. A hell of a lot easier than hardwiring. The quality of the product could be stepped up a bit. I'd even pay more for a kit that functioned properly.

7 out of 7 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Good producr

Mike - 8/31/2017 10:59:57 AM

6 found this review helpful


Pros: Works well and is low profile, neatens up the living area

Cons: Couldn't get it to work without using the sticky eye, took longer to set up than expected

Other: Now that I know how to use it better I like it better. It was difficult at first because the remote has to be pointed precisely at the eye.

6 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Color coding makes installation easy

- 9/6/2017 12:39:19 PM

6 found this review helpful


Pros: At first I felt overwhelmed (you'll be surprised how many cables a wireless product needs, but don't worry - it's just power and receiver/emitter eyes). The color coding helped me quickly figure out what went where.

Cons: None

Other: I really like how the power cables run off of USB. 2 power supplies are included in case you need to plug both sides in, but in my case the sender (or receiver depending on how you look at it - the thing by my TV that was grabbing the IR signals and sending them to my TiVo installed in a closet) could just plug in to the TV's USB port, which is really nice and cut down on a little cable clutter.

6 out of 7 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

BlastIR

AlanG - 8/21/2018 9:08:39 AM

1 found this review helpful


Pros: The supplied IR emitter cables are a welcomed accessory. Control is fantastic.

Cons: IR Emitter cable connection location complicates the placement of the emitter.

Other: I have a relatively complex setup where I have a DVR (Channel Master) connected to a TV in the family room and I wanted to be able to view the recorded content on a TV in the master bedroom. Necessary to accomplish this task was a HDMI 4 X 2 matrix switch and 2 Harmony 650 remotes. The HDMI switch allows for the 2 outputs to the TVs while inputs are DVR, ROKU, and ChromeCast. One input is un-used. Now the problem of controlling the Channel Master, HDMI switch and ROKU from the master bedroom (approximately 50 feet) and after some investigation and tech savvy online support the BlastIR Wireless was selected to accomplish this. With the necessity to control 3 components the supplied IR emitter cables are a welcomed accessory. Control is fantastic. The only problem encountered with my setup pertains to what appears to be a limited view of the HDMI switch’s IR receiver. Not knowing the IR signal pattern on the BlastIR Emitter buds it was necessary to raise the bud ¼” to properly align with the switch’s IR receiver. As time permits I will continue to tweak this setup to obtain a more reliable control.

1 out of 1 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Delayed

Brian Z - 6/4/2018 1:14:13 PM

1 found this review helpful


Pros: small and compact, easy to hide

Cons: delayed response

Other: The total distance between the emitter and reciever is no more than 12ft. (reciever is under the tv and the emitter is directly in front of the cable box in my basement.) I have to double tap the button in order for the signal to through which can be a pain, example would be if i want to pull up the guide i have to press the guide button twice in order for it to register. i'm not sure if my device is defective or if it's just how it's supposed to operate (which i doubt.) None the less, if it was not for this issue it would have 5 stars from me but unfortunately thats not the case.

1 out of 1 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Works Great!

- 4/23/2018 2:19:57 PM

1 found this review helpful


Pros: My receiver is in a closet approximately 20-25 feet from the TV. The product I purchased is working as planned. I am a very happy customer and the set up was super easy.

Cons: none

Other:

1 out of 1 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

almost there.

Ru Su - 1/4/2018 10:29:24 PM

1 found this review helpful


Pros: Easy to setup, Comes with everything needed to setup, Works great when working

Cons: It'll drop for 15-60 seconds then comes back online and works as normal. It just drops at random moments. It's the emitter that won't receive/emit to the device. The receiver flashes whenever it gets an signal.

Other:

1 out of 1 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Wireless repeater

Jerry - 5/21/2018 11:30:49 AM

0 found this review helpful


Pros: Great product. Easy to set up and works perfectly. Extra emitters and sensors weren’t needed for my set up but nice to have if I want to change configuration.

Cons: None that I’ve found

Other:

0 out of 0 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

I needed it bad

Paul MN - 5/23/2018 2:27:38 PM

0 found this review helpful


Pros: Plug and play! Two power options USB or 110v transformer (I used the USB on back of both units! Thanks for your product! And it came in two days because I ordered it directly from Sewell! Best price too!

Cons: I didn't buy this one first before dropping$13.00 on a eye and extension cable that did nothing even when the cable box had a jack for it! But this one and done!

Other:

0 out of 0 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Didn’t work

- 6/3/2018 12:52:22 PM

0 found this review helpful


Pros:

Cons: Defective.

Other:

Company response:

Sorry to hear that. I show that we've already set you up for a return. Have you already gotten some troubleshooting help from our tech department? If not feel free to drop us a line for some help potentially getting that working.

0 out of 0 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Results: 53