Reviews

Sewell Deadbolt Banana Plugs, 12 Pair

4.8 (97 reviews)

Great item that works!

resedaruss - 6/18/2013 11:57:20 AM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: Makes a solid connection that won't break free. The item is very well made and a cinch to connect to speaker wires. I've used several other designs that also attach to wire with parts that screw together, but all of them were poorly designed and didn't form a solid attachment that wouldn't break away over time when put into and pulled out of the speaker.

Cons: Not really a con, since the attachment is very secure, but the design allows the plug to wobble a tiny bit in the plug-hole when plugged in to the speaker. There is ONE spring-loaded bulge in the shaft of the plug. If it had two spring-loaded bulges spaced a little bit apart on the shaft, the plug would then not be able to wobble. In any case, the wobbling only occurs while a person is handling the plug--not while it is left untouched and plugged into the speaker.

Other: Sewell is very responsive and prompt in their business dealings. Their prices are very reasonable in my opinion.

5 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Your search ends here

Dev - 5/9/2012 4:40:31 PM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: Supremely easy to install, makes a very secure connection, both electrically and physically, to both the wire and the terminals. And in my experience it does all this better than any other banana plug I've used (and given that I do installations for a living, I've worked with dozens) for less money.

Cons: Mechanism makes these impractical for solid core wire. But if you're concerned about strand jumping in your speaker cable enough to opt for solid core wires, then these connectors are a bad choice for you, because they will have not nearly enough pixie dust anyways.

Other: Don't ever get rid of these Sewell! These are EASILY the best bananas you make.

5 out of 7 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Banana Plugs

GEP - 3/22/2013 1:08:37 PM

4 found this review helpful


Pros: High quality, low price, easy to attach to cable. What more could you ask for.

Cons:

Other:

4 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Deadbolt Banana Plugs

Alan - 7/9/2014 1:04:22 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Make your installation look professional Solid contact easy to use

Cons: I am not sure what Sewell was thinking when they developed their packaging. They should be in sets for 5 speakers, 7 speakers or 9 speakers.

Other: Thanks for have such great products.

2 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

YOU CAN STOP LOOKING NOW

Anonymous - 3/5/2014 5:58:45 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Simple, solid, easy

Cons: None that I can find

Other: Took longer to strip the wire than to attach the plug. Very solid connection. I've tried a slew of different spades, bananas, and pins. If you don't want to solder plugs this is the best way to go.

2 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Good value

Anonymous - 11/2/2013 7:11:47 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Plugs are not too deep and insert into jacks easily, but with enough friction to hold them. Assembly was straightforward and they hold the wires tightly. Red and black bands label the positive and negative wires.

Cons: The plug and shell screw together. I found it difficult to screw them together tightly enough so that the shell was not loose (still turning easily). I resorted to holding the plug with pliers while turning the shell with my fingers.

Other: Overall, I'm happy with the plugs and I think they were a good value for the price.

2 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

5-stars!

popmartian66 - 2/6/2013 6:27:00 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: 1-2-3 easy install

Cons:

Other: while advertised as "low profile" to allow speakers to sit closer to wall, i could not use with my mounted JBL CS6100 satellite speakers due to lack of clearance so I only used to connect to receiver.

2 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Deadbolt banana plugs

RickDH - 10/13/2012 12:39:10 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: easy to install, secure, reasonably priced

Cons: none apparent

Other: fast delivery

2 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Quality

Steve - 7/24/2012 10:50:08 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Quality product, easy to use with speaker wires, and has a small profile for even less clutter. Processing and shipping was very quick.

Cons: Will explain in other comments. Nothing do do with the product.

Other: Customer service was off and on with online chat. When asked if the product was going to be available on the ETA, the first guy quickly replied and said it would be about two to three weeks until arrival and I suggested changing the ETA so it is not a bother for others looking for the same product. The second guy when asked said he would ask shipping, and then replied a few minutes later and said they should be in that day according to tracking, but may be the next day. First guy seemed to just want to get off, and the second guy took responsibility and really assisted me. So thank you to the second guy.

2 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Sewell Banana Plugs

User - 9/20/2012 1:02:11 PM

1 found this review helpful


Pros: These are exactly the same (or better) quality as the higher priced ones from the expensive cable and wire manufacturer. Heavy and easy to assemble. They fit 10 gauge wire perfectly.

Cons:

Other: I would recommend these banana plugs to anyone who in the market of buying banana plugs. They attach in the back of my receiver with ease...

1 out of 1 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Results: 97