Reviews

Sewell Silverback Banana Plugs, 12 pairs

4.8 (86 reviews)

Silverback Banana Plugs

crmoon340 - 2/13/2012 3:24:39 PM

6 found this review helpful


Pros: I'm quite satisfied with the silverback banana plugs. The price was well under the price of local electronic stores. Shippment was fast and product was as advertised. I'm happy with purchase and will purchase again from Sewell.

Cons:

Other:

6 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Silverback Banana Plugs

Dick - 4/11/2013 2:46:08 PM

6 found this review helpful


Pros: They came as advertised and provide a nice secure fit with the two screws for each wire. They look great too.

Cons: None

Other: Have already ordered more. Great site to purchase from.

6 out of 9 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Recommended

Andy - 2/18/2014 11:30:13 AM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: Solid construction and well marked. I happen to prefer the dual screw lock method. No problems with 14ga and 16ga wire.

Cons:

Other: The product would have received 5 stars but I order 6 pairs but received 5 1/2. One plug was missing from the package. However, it was not a factor for my needs at this time.

Company response:

We are so sorry about that! It sounds like you may have been shipped an open box product by accident. In any case, we will gladly replace the plug for you if you need it. Please let us know if that becomes the case. We can't apologize enough.

5 out of 7 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Silverback Plugs

Roy - 4/23/2013 9:14:41 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Easy to install Good instructions Priced right Fast delivery Product Quality is first class

Cons: None

Other:

2 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

well built

Anonymous - 4/8/2013 11:52:49 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: well built connectors, easy to install

Cons: none

Other:

2 out of 5 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous - 11/15/2012 12:19:34 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros:

Cons:

Other:

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Silverback Banana Plugs

Anonymous - 10/13/2013 12:04:23 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Easy to hook up once I'd done the first one.

Cons: Bought an open box set listed as having damage to the outer package. One of the plugs was broken and also would not come apart. I only needed four of the six pairs though, so no harm other than this was the one I pulled first to start working with.

Other: Ordered on Thursday morning and the shipment arrived on Saturday via the least expensive USPS option. Excellent service!

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Not the Best Connection

Anonymous - 4/12/2012 11:31:00 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: It looks OK.

Cons: For our particular use,in comparison with Sewell Deadbolt Banana Plugs these plugs (Silverback) are below par. First, we don't feel secure with the metallic casing. A short could occurs easily (remember Murphy). By the way the casing keeps getting loosen if you use to hear music laud with good bass. Second,if your cables are not too thick, the screw lock does not offer the best mechanical connection; you are pushing a flat surface against a circular one, and a stranded cable in between.

Other: We owned both types (Siverback and Deadbolt) and we prefer the Deadbolt by FAR.

Company response:

Thank you for the feedback. We are adding a non-conductive coating to the casing on the Silverback plugs. We are glad that you have enjoyed the deadbolts.

2 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

The better, less worrisome banana plug option

Aron - 6/2/2014 8:13:28 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: After having dealt with the type of banana plug that you have to splay the wires about in a circle and then screw down, I think that this is a much cleaner, much less stressful, and altogether superior option. I am confident in the connection I am creating with these, and they fit 12 AWG wires very well. They are sturdy, solid, and I don't think I would change anything about them.

Cons: You could argue that they take a bit longer to put together with those little screws, but it's not a meaningful difference, and you are getting what to me is the better option.

Other:

2 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Not Copper!

RC - 5/9/2012 1:31:02 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Well Made, Fast Shipping, Work Well, Look Appealing!

Cons: Not pure copper, made of a gold plated metal alloy. At least three metals, under the plating. Not, really suited for pure metalergical purpose.Yes, I can hear the difference.(easily) When going from gold plated copper,to these it induces acoustic anaomolies.Timber suffers the most. I've only tried them on very high end system!Might be less revealing on mid-fi system. I personally can't use them. Live and learn.Will know soon what allow they consist of.Use bare wire. Suggest new WBT,however,priced extremely high.Making a killing on profit margins.Several have no hole for wire.Improperly made.Might make expensive sinkers for fishing.

Other: I also bought some gold plated spades.They appear to be gold plated pure copper.I haven't had time to try them yet.But they look like the real deal.If they are, they'll work just fine.Very well made. Also, fairly priced.Sometimes you get what you pay for. Sometimes you don't.Overall, I'm disappointed.

2 out of 3 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Results: 86