Reviews

InjectIR- IR over HDMI Kit

InjectIR- IR over HDMI Kit

3.8 (62 reviews)

Back to product page

(32) 51.61 %
(10) 16.13 %
(5) 8.06 %
(7) 11.29 %
(8) 12.90 %

Not Rated

(0) 0.00 %

JohnM - 10/22/2012 11:24:04 AM

7 found this review helpful


Pros: Easy to install, no additional wiring required, works great even with multiple devices.

Cons: Delicate!

Other:

7 out of 13 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Will not Work for Most Remote Home Theater Installs

JAEschbach - 1/2/2012 3:08:08 PM

6 found this review helpful


Pros: Easy to install Works for all my equipment

Cons: Will not work for most Home Theater installs where you power down the receiver that is also switching the HDMI as once there is no signal on the HDMI cable no IR is transmitted and receiver cannot be turned back on.

Other: Fatal flaw for systems using home theater to switch HDMI and need to power down receiver between uses as it will not transmit IR over the HDMI cable if there is no power on the AV receiver (at least for my Denon receiver). Sewell Note: We are sorry that the InjectIR didn't work for your home theater setup. You are right, some AV receivers cut power to the HDMI port when powered off, and will not power the InjectIR system to turn the receiver back on. You can add an inline power source like a repeater, or you can look at one of our self powered options like the SW-29311 (though they require a separate wire). Let us know if you need to return the InjectIR system for a refund.

6 out of 7 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

VERY easy!

Anonymous - 11/16/2011 6:11:10 PM

6 found this review helpful


Pros: Ease of installation. Did what I wanted. Need NO seperate power supply or other support components to operate.

Cons: Can interfere with other connections IF close to HDMI port used as I/R modules are on the side of the plug.

Other: Used for a client that wanted their cable DVR box isolated from the viewing room to eliminate fan noise from cable DVR. Using a 29' HDMI cable, the product worked great, but be aware that the I/R cable comes out the side so it may cause physical interference if using other inputs next to HDMI ports on equipment.

6 out of 8 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

works like a charm

troyoh - 2/5/2012 8:53:47 AM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: easy to install even though I did it backwards the first time, no more than 10 minutes. And it works, channels and commands change quickly.

Cons:

Other:

5 out of 5 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

InjectIR

JimF - 4/12/2012 11:46:32 AM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: Novel idea of using existing HDMI cables to carry the IR signal. Works nicely and does what it was designed to do.

Cons: Does not work to latest HDMI spec of "1.4a", only to "1.3" so the ARC feature is cut-off. Also mechanically the plug-in connector causes interference with other HDMI cables b/c all HDMI chassis mating connectors are lined up next to each other.

Other: To fix the interference, furnish a right-angle adapter to minimize interference with other HDMI cables.

5 out of 8 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

InjectIR

Officer J - 12/5/2012 3:31:23 PM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: Product arrived quickly, and instructions were good.

Cons: Equipment was not compatible with Verizon Fios equipment. Had to return the unit.

Other: Customer service was excellent in handling this matter. Check the back of you TV before ordering, you may need an adapter for the piece to fit.

5 out of 9 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Will not work with many DVRs

DB - 1/31/2012 9:17:58 PM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: Easy to install. Works well with "single band" remote applications - my Sony Blu-ray player, for example.

Cons: Will not work with equipment that uses dual band remotes - my DISH Vip722k DVR, for example.

Other: I wish that SewellDirect would be more specific in their product description. The first line of the product description lists DVRs (as well as Blu-ray players, set-top boxes, and others) as products that the injectIR HDMI will work with, yet it does not work with DISH DVRs (newer ones, anyway) and according to other reviews posted here, does not work with newer TIVOs, Comcast Cable DVRs, or FIOS boxes. Before ordering, be sure to check whether your equipment uses single or dual band remotes.

5 out of 9 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Curt - 9/8/2011 8:57:12 PM

4 found this review helpful


Pros: Works great for pioneer vsx1021 avr

Cons: Does not work with cisco rng150 STB

Other: Very easy to install

4 out of 7 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Works surprisingly well

Robert - 10/11/2012 11:23:42 AM

4 found this review helpful


Pros: Simplicity of installation. No need to fuss with extra wires

Cons: You have to actually open the box and apply the plugs yourself to both ends. The plugs don't leap out of the box and attach themselves for you.

Other: I was kind of skeptical this was going to work, but I'm delighted to report that it works exactly as advertised. In my case I have a 25 foot HDMI cable connecting a TV in one room to a shared cable box in another room. Works like a charm. And MUCH preferable to having to fish another line through the wall. Amazing engineering!

4 out of 8 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Great product - wish I had found it sooner

Anonymous - 3/16/2012 2:58:08 PM

4 found this review helpful


Pros: Easy to use right out of the box. Simple instructions and makes it idiot-proof. Works better than advertised.

Cons: Bulky transmitted makes it hard to place in tight cabinet.

Other:

4 out of 7 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Results: 62