Reviews

Sewell TVdeck PC to TV Converter

Sewell TVdeck PC to TV Converter

4.5 (457 reviews)

Back to product page

(301) 65.86 %
(111) 24.29 %
(23) 5.03 %
(6) 1.31 %
(16) 3.50 %

Not Rated

(0) 0.00 %

Great Product

Shawn - 8/6/2010 7:35:16 AM

12 found this review helpful


Pros: I bought this to hook a new hp laptop to my TV to allow us to watch HULU and NETFLIX on the TV. Sewell Customer service was great and answered my questions. Shipping was fast. The unit is powered through the USB port. My laptop has all the necessary ports (VGA, USB, and Headphone) on the same side, so it's no problem, but the cables seem long enough that I might have been able to reach the other side of the laptop if needed (and I have a 17" laptop that's HUGE). In less than 5 minutes my laptop was hooked to my TV with a nice image and no difficult software to install. Just use the color-coded cable that comes with the unit and hook it into your TV (make sure you set the TV to the correct input). Everything worked - first try - no problems. My wife and I think the sound and picture quality are great and I carry the unit with me in my laptop bag because you just never know when you'll want to use it.

Cons: None really. I'm very happy with the unit. See the OTHER COMMENTS section for some things to consider.

Other: I work with video regularly as part of my job, so I have a little knowledge and a discerning eye. That said, I wasn't expecting this box to produce readable text on my TV (I know what TV's can and can't do - Mine is a 36" flatscreen tube TV that is not high-def) and I wasn't expecting HD quality. After reading some of the other reviews I expected the quality to be LESS than it was, and I was pleasantly surprised. The image on the TV looks very good to me. We've watched HULU and another movie from my hard drive with no problems and no disappointments. I Have noticed (barely noticed) an occassional (maybe once per hour) scanline distortion that runs down the length of the TV. It is so difficult to notice that my trained eye catches it only in the lower third of the screen (and then it's gone in less than a second). My wife has never noticed this at all. I think the average viewer won't notice it at all. It does not bother me. The picture from the unit displays on the TV as a slightly warmer (color-wise) image than the laptop picture and slightly more saturated (color-wise again) image. I did not adjust the color either through the box or on the TV because I found it looked more natural than the laptop image. I left everything set to factory defaults and COULDN'T BE HAPPIER. It's a nice convenient box with all the cabling kept neatly together. It was my first purchase from Sewell and it was a good sound purchase.

12 out of 13 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Guy_in_MD - 1/9/2010 12:53:41 PM

8 found this review helpful


Pros: The quality of videos through the device was incredible. After buying this device, we canceled our cable TV entirely and now watch everything streaming online. A one-time very low payment sure beats $80 a month. The device couldn't be easier to setup or use. I'm glad I waited for this one, since it consolidates all inputs from the computer into 1 cable and does not need another wall socket.

Cons: None so far. If you want an HD signal or detailed computer screen resolution on your TV, get one of the HD TV converters. If you want to watch movies accessible through your computer on your TV screen in the highest quality the transmission stream can handle, then this is the device for you.

Other:

8 out of 9 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

PC to TV Converter

Jhoye - 12/14/2009 7:04:50 AM

7 found this review helpful


Pros: It does what it says works right out of the box easy setup nothing extra to buy for most people see cons below. Picture quality looks like VCR but good enough.Great product

Cons: If your interested in viewing text from you computer to TV this will not be for you. The sound cable that plugs into head phone jack needs to be 3 inches longer. My VGA jack is on left side of Laptop and my head phone jack is on right side of laptop so I needed 2 inch extension. FYI If your laptop has same layout you will neeed headphone ext piece as well

Other:

7 out of 8 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Ken Putt

Ken - 2/24/2010 10:02:10 AM

7 found this review helpful


Pros: So easy to hook up. The attached video/audio cables make it so neat and easy.

Cons: Although the video when watching movies from the PC on my TV were acceptable and the price simply cannot be beat, text was too fuzzy for my eyes. I had to return it for this reason. Worked well for watching Netflix and other videos via my PC though. If you need sharp text I suggest one of Sewell's higher resolution products.

Other:

7 out of 9 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

OUTSTANDING!

Rambling Robert - 2/7/2010 8:00:04 AM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: This unit does exactly what it claims to do...and very well! The adjustments that can be made with the unit are simple. Nice all in one set-up that came with everything you need to get it up and running. Perfect for NETFLIX onto the television. The family loves it! Thanks for making and selling such a nice product!

Cons: None noted.

Other:

5 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Good Entry Level Device

Anonymous - 3/1/2010 9:36:13 AM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: The device is easy to hook up - right out of the box. The video display and sound are adequate. It is a good entry level device with acceptable performance.

Cons: The sound cord is a little too short. I am using the device with a laptop and my headphone jack is on the opposite side of my laptop from my video output. I had to purchase a 12 inch extension for the headphone cord so it would be out of the way. I want all of my cords to run around the back of the laptop and out of my way.

Other: The device did everything it said it would do. My family can gather around the TV and we can view our pictures and video without crowding around the laptop. Remember this device is analog, not digital, but a good value for the money.

5 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Earl - 1/5/2010 1:52:54 PM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: This worked great on my older Magnavox 36" TV. I alao bought an s-video cable but didn't need it as the picture comes in clear and with perfect color from my new laptop with the RCA cables included in the box. I have recommended this to my friends.

Cons: None so far.

Other:

5 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Worth the $$$$

Dex - 7/10/2010 1:12:32 PM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: Easy fit.....no program to upload...all you need is their in the box.

Cons:

Other: Well they're are other products out there,and yes i did shop around...don't know if they're better but,could not beat the PRICE...I Tried Best Buy,Radio Shack and Target store's. And Im very satisfied with my choice...If their's a better deal than so be it.

5 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous - 7/2/2010 11:25:45 AM

5 found this review helpful


Pros: Works great, easy to set up, picture and sound are converted perfectly. Great for watching free movies online, or TV shows. The screen adjust comes in handy for different size tvs.Small and convenient enough to bring with you anywhere as long as you have access to a laptop. Shipped within a few days with no problems.

Cons: The zoom function isn't very useful, only zooms in too far and doesn't improve the picture viewing at all. The function isn't needed, the picture looks great as is.

Other: I definitely recommend this for anyone who likes watching movies and tv online. Allows you to enjoy it on a much larger screen (if you have one) and from the comfort of a sofa or bed.

5 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

It works, but

Lizbet - 12/29/2009 9:19:07 AM

4 found this review helpful


Pros: It converts the signal well. DVDs and Video great, but not internet or screen copy- like you can't read your e-mails on it or at least not with the TV I have.

Cons: The Auto cable is too short to make it to the other side of my 10" netbook not even straight under it. It branches off from the VGA plug as does the USB. The web site says all cables are approx. 5ft, but this one is only about 8".

Other: I'll be trying the 22050 which has separate cables instead.

4 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Results: 457