Reviews

Minideck USB to DVI Adapter

Minideck USB to DVI Adapter

4.6 (67 reviews)

Back to product page

(44) 65.67 %
(19) 28.36 %
(2) 2.99 %
(2) 2.99 %
(0) 0.00 %

Not Rated

(0) 0.00 %

Accurate

Jimmy - 10/16/2011 10:29:48 AM

4 found this review helpful


Pros: This was my first purchase from Sewell, I am most impressed with their accuracy and timely service. The product worked great, and the price was competitive. I have recommend Sewell to my workplace, as well as friends.

Cons: None

Other:

4 out of 8 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Great upgrade

Anonymous - 12/21/2009 2:53:14 PM

3 found this review helpful


Pros: I used the old Sewell USB to DVI (SW-8769) and needed to get another one (I gave the other one to a co-worker). This one is great - it's pretty similar except now it will drive my 24" monitor at 1920x1200 (native resolution).

Cons: None

Other: Keep up the great work!

3 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Sewell Minideck USB

Ron44077 - 3/3/2012 12:03:55 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: These are inexpensive and work great. Every one we've used has been simple to install and flawless in operation. For business oriented (non-video) use, the display quality and response is indistinguishable from displays connected to physical video cards. With 1 or 2 of these on a 32 bit system or up to 6 on a 64 bit system, we've seen no problems with memory, system performance or anything else.

Cons: We were unable to get 4 of them to work at the same time on a customer's 32 bit Win7 PC. Initial screen display worked ok, but as the customer ran things that changed what was displayed, all kinds of quirky things started happening and the displays got all messed up. We suspected some sort of memory issue, so we switched to 64bit Win7, and have not had a problem since. Also, they are not at all useful for streaming images like NetFlix or Hulu. The sound keeps going but the video stalls out.

Other: I have been using 1 of these for about a year on my personal system and got a second a couple months ago. The system they're on (64bit Win7) also has 4 other monitors connected to physical video cards. No problems. As a stress test for a customer, we tried connecting all 6 monitors using Sewell USB adapters for about a day. Again, no problems whatsoever for still images. We have installed 5 of these on customer computers, have no problems and would not hesitate to install more.

2 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

MINIDECK Display Adapter

Blair Smith - 5/12/2011 2:29:46 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Easy to setup and install. Compact design/ size. Easy to adjust the resolution. Solid, uninterrupted performance!

Cons:

Other: The Minideck is outstanding! I bought these Minidecks (8 of them) to test them against the Tritton SEE2 Xtreme UV200 which I had been using to support my array of 4 Dell 30 inch displays and my wife's 2 Dell 27 inch displays. I bought two extra Minidecks as "spares" thinking they probably would not perform significantly better than the UV200. I was wrong! My wife and I had been using the UV200 for several months and we had both experienced a growing number of "blue screen" system crashes with our Windows 7 OS and other distracting, time consuming problems. The simple act of rebooting our laptops to complete software updates was a ONE HOUR+ ordeal EVERY TIME! It took this long to reinstall the UV200 software in order to get all the displays to be recognized again. I was frustrated and increasingly dissatisfied... frankly I was sick of them and thinking about ditching the whole idea of using multiple displays! It was a bad experience, but I did not know how bad it really was until I set up these new Minidecks and was able to compare the poor performance of the UV200 with the stable performance of the Minideck. The Minideck software was simple to install, easy to use and it is perfectly, seamlessly integrated with the Windows 7 OS. The UV200 software was definitely NOT well integrated to the Windows 7 display controls... in fact it was not, by comparison to the Minideck, integrated at all! When my laptop went into Screen Saver mode, while using the UV200, my displays NEVER went into a power saving mode and the slide show would not run. With the Minideck, when the Screen Saver engages, all the displays go dark except for my main laptop display which runs the Screen Saver slide show, as it should. Our systems run 24/7 and now, with the Minideck, I have NO system failures AT ALL... NONE... no hiccups, no blips, no blinks... nothing to complain about. I am experiencing far superior performance and stability compared to the UV200. They actually perform perfectly.

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent addition for a Mac

Anonymous - 5/26/2011 11:27:11 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Easy to install, works great for a 28" LCD monitor that gets 1920 x 1200 resolution. Added a 3rd monitor to my Macbook pro and looks great.

Cons: A bit of a stutter when showing video, but this is due to the speed of the USB bus not a problem with the card.

Other:

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Great product

Rod - 7/28/2011 11:17:54 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Works much better than my old device. Full resolution and works great with Aero effects.

Cons: None so far

Other:

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous - 12/18/2009 11:29:22 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros:

Cons:

Other:

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Extend Video

Anonymous - 12/14/2009 10:18:22 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Excellent choice, now able to run two monitors off of my m90, no issues setting up and quickly was working; running two 1920x1200 monitors with them

Cons: none

Other:

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Good Display Adapter but not an external video cad

Anonymous - 12/3/2009 11:31:40 AM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: - Works as described

Cons: - Package was missing the DVI to HDMI adapter. So I had to wait 5 more days (because of holidays) to try the product. - It is not an external video card

Other: My laptop's on-board video card kicked the bucket and after talking to Sewell direct's tech support I bought this thinking it is an external video card. But it is not.

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous - 9/9/2011 3:36:00 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Works Great! I'm using two of them connected to my laptop so I can run 3 monitors 1 26" and 2 24" (each with a mini-deck) plus my laptop screen gives me 4 monitors.

Cons:

Other:

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Results: 67