Sewell HDdeck USB to HDMI

Sewell HDdeck USB to HDMI

4.6 (74 reviews)

Back to product page

(58) 78.38 %
(10) 13.51 %
(2) 2.70 %
(3) 4.05 %
(1) 1.35 %

Not Rated

(0) 0.00 %


Anonymous - 2/26/2013 2:54:21 PM

5 found this review helpful

Pros: Great item. Does exactly what I needed it to do. Would highly recommend.

Cons: No cons as of now.

Other: With the HDMI cable and the USB Cable, I was able to go from the Computer to the TV with a good picture. The CD with instructions makes it an easy installation.

5 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

I'm pleased with this product...

K. P. - 9/25/2011 8:00:55 AM

4 found this review helpful

Pros: Works as described. You can change the resolution very easily, and it supports pretty much any resolution your TV/Monitor will support. Perfect HD output source. Audio was also fine.

Cons: It will take some time to figure out the best setup for your device. I had a difficult time finding a way to get video running smoothly. See other comments for my solutions.

Other: I don't see very much information helping people troubleshoot their problems. First off, follow the install directions. Install from the CD first, then turn your monitor/TV on and connect it to the HDdeck, and finally plug the HDdeck into your usb port. IF the image on the TV/monitor is too small or too big, this is probably a zoom/aspect ratio problem with your TV settings. Most TVs allow you to change the aspect ratio and screen fit through their own settings. Play around until you find the correct setting. My TV had a fit to screen setting. This corrected the display issues I was having. For good video playback I had to disable hardware acceleration on my browser. This was the only way I could get video playback to work properly. I'm not sure if this was just my problem, but if you're having problems this might help. For video playback from a media player, I've had to play around a lot. I do not have a solution for windows media player. What I do have working smoothly is VLC media player. The only way I was able to get smooth video playback was to change the video output. Go Tools->Preferences->Video and look for the output drop down menu. I'm currently using Windows GDI video output. So those are my solutions. Hopefully this helps someone out. If you don't use VLC already, get it, it's probably the best video player out there.

4 out of 7 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?


Anonymous - 2/16/2011 8:14:41 PM

4 found this review helpful

Pros: Prompt courteous service, although the item was not compatible with my setup.


Other: More indepth information as to applicability needed in order to secure proper product for a given situation. Tech service personnel not to blame for the incompatibility. They were courteous and helpful.

4 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Fred - 1/13/2011 12:25:39 PM

4 found this review helpful

Pros: The HD deck #31000 USB/HDMI adapter is great, and it works fine. It installed very well, and see no trouble so far. The video and audio is fine on the computer monitor.

Cons: My one objection here, I cannot get my HDTV (40" Samsung LCD) to show the videos in full screen. I can only get the TV screen with a blank at the top and bottom with 2-1/2" space.

Other: SEWELL NOTE: You should be able to eliminate those blank spaces. I would recommend trying different resolution outputs as well as restarting the computer with the monitor connected and turned on. If after this you still have issues please contact Tech Support for additional help.

4 out of 5 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Amazing device

caveman1960 - 2/21/2011 5:27:33 PM

4 found this review helpful

Pros: This device is amazing. If you are video editor and already have a dual monitor set up, now you can easily connect to a larger plasma/LCD screen and not just mirror one of your other displays, but you get an actual third display. You can drag your video player onto the plasma and show your client the video you are working on on a much larger screen. It was seemless and fast. It even knew that my plasma was not a full HD screen but was 1380 x 720 and it adjusted for that automatically. I can also see the use for this at a trade show when you want to use a large Plasma in your booth connected to your laptop to give demos. In the past I purchased a Gefen DVI splitter for over $400.00 and all that I was able to do was to mirror my second display. Now for around $100 I get a third display.

Cons: None so far


4 out of 7 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous - 1/21/2011 1:19:38 PM

4 found this review helpful

Pros: Works Fine.

Cons: None

Other: Called tech support and they were very helpful.

4 out of 5 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?


J.C. - 12/30/2011 1:00:03 PM

3 found this review helpful

Pros: This little box exceeded my expectations. The hook up was very simple. I currently do not have cable or satellite. I have a desktop computer and I wanted to steam to my TV. I tried the Roku box but it did not work. The Sewell HDdeck worked perfect. My husband and I love it. I would recommend it to everyone. In fact, after seeing ours, my sister is considering dropping her satellite bill and purchasing one of these neat little boxes.

Cons: I have not found any cons.

Other: Thanks to the person who left the comment about the HDMI cable. The HDMI cable is not included. Measure from your desktop to your TV, and you will know what length to order. If you can stream it on your PC, you can stream it on your TV. THANK YOU SEWELL for making a great product!

3 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?


John - 2/29/2012 7:20:45 AM

3 found this review helpful

Pros: Reasonably priced compared to adapter cards, simple and easy to install, and it works.

Cons: Only con is the install instructions could have said to change display options. This, however, is too dependent on PC h/w and s/w to be practical. See below for Win7.

Other: Worked fine once I realized I had to go to Control Panel in Win7 and change "appearance of your display" and set it to "multiple monitors" and "duplicate these displays". After that it just works. Neat product especially for one with cataracts (big screen).

3 out of 3 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Works flawlessly

jonputah - 11/11/2011 1:13:26 PM

3 found this review helpful

Pros: Just plugged it in and ran the setup for window 7 64bit and it just worked! I like when things just work ;) much smaller than it looks in the picture which is nice, can tuck it away pretty much anywhere between the computer and tv

Cons: for the price, would be nice to have a HDMI cable included. Does come with the USB though.

Other: I still need one more HDMI cable so I'm not borrowing from another device. Have a google tv with Dish but find that I still can't get everything I want on the TV. This is the bridge that allows me to view 'blocked' channels on my TV. Wish it were more elegant (i.e., just worked through the GTV browser) but I have no influence on the juvenile media companies.

3 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Worked Great

Anonymous - 2/25/2013 9:28:49 AM

3 found this review helpful

Pros: I have an HP6930p laptop 4GB-RAM - Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit. My TV is a Visio 55". The SW-31000 worked as advertised. The picture fill my TV screen. Picture and sound quality through the TV is very good.

Cons: None observed.

Other: Order fulfilment was timely. I ordered the unit on Wednesday evening and it arrived Saturday, via USPS.

3 out of 5 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Results: 74